mohrbr

Icon

A lovely bit of cabin fever

HW 12 – INITIAL THOUGHTS – BIG STORY UNIT

The majority of big stories share the common characteristic of creating a set of believes, that varies from  person to person, which encourage people to get up and live another day of their life. I believe that without big stories we will cease to be beings that are aware of their existence and we will become inanimate objects. My perception of my big story has recently been fragmented which caused me to lose my sense of purpose and feel un-satisfied with life. Based on my own experience, I want to analyze people that are enacting or enacted in concrete stories which lead them to be happy. I think that humans are like space, meaning that we are defined by what’s around us. Hence people’s big stories alter depending what stimulates they interact with. Since the structure of my narrative has recently proved to be only “stains of rust on mounds of plaster”, I would like to further explore my own big story in order for me to strengthen it.  However, from personal experience I know that if one probes the wall of logic for too long it would eventually crumble down in a catastrophic demolition, which is an experience I would not like to repeat. Before beginning to explore the concepts of big stories I would like to know what “big story” means. Currently I have only been given vague definition of what it could mean or how other schools would call this unit, but I have yet to receive a definite explanation.

Filed under: Uncategorized

5 Responses

  1. NC says:

    I think the author has a valid point that the  DM is a great source of information. It provides us with an over abundance of facts, ideas, and it gives us limitless access to all available sources. Yet, the DM makes our lives more difficult precisely for that reason. In other words, too much about too much. Instead of researching ideas engaging in discourse in depth, in real time, face to face with teachers, professors, peers we are now forced to sift through billions of notes and unverified documents. We find ourselves visually scanning excessive amounts of information. At some point our brains become overloaded and shuts down. It may feel as if we are distracted. But maybe our brains turn on a safety switch and block unnecessary information into our consciousness. What about the unique, co-creation of contact and connection that propels human relationships to seek intimacy, friendship, and experience themselves and their world differently? It is my humble opinion that people who truly want to experience living, to open up to joyfulness and intimacy with others, means loosing the profound isolation that comes with a relational experience to a computer screen.    

  2. Change your blog’s language to english. As your “triangle partner” I would like to be able to understand the entirety of your blog.

  3. Greetings, Mohr. I noticed how you spoke of your “big story” as “fragmented”. I’m interested in what you mean by that. It raised a lot of questions about the properties of “big stories” for me, how does a big story break/fracture, can it be put back together?
    That being said I has a serious problem with the plethora of incomplete and clunky metaphors. They slowed the flow of the post and didn’t make sense. Also please proof-read, there are several grammatical errors.
    -Simon

  4. naomihendel says:

    Mohr,
    I like when you said that your “perception of my big story has recently been fragmented which caused me to lose my sense of purpose and feel un-satisfied with life” because your post just became real. Everyone has times in their life where they lose sight of purpose and are unsatisfied. Its really wonderful that you are not afraid to voice that and explain how it was cause by fragmentation in your big story.
    It made me think when you said “humans are like space, meaning that we are defined by what’s around us” because I disagree with you. I think we are defined by our actions and decisions not whats in our environment. How can we be defined by whats around us when we have little control over the environment we are thrown into? Don’t you think we are more defined by what we have control over rather than what we don’t have control over? In space everything is placed there and one object doesn’t have control over what is around it. In life when we don’t have control over what surrounds us, aren’t we defined by the decisions we make based on that?
    My advice to you would be to beware of being too argumentative. When you say “Currently I have only been given vague definition of what it could mean or how other schools would call this unit, but I have yet to receive a definite explanation” it puzzles me. You should stop arguing with the homework assignment and just do it. The homework assignment was really to create your own definition of a big story. It would have made a much better ending if you ended with “which is an experience I would not like to repeat.” instead of going on to argue. It leaves the reader with negative feelings about your post instead of positive ones.

  5. Jo says:

    I agree that we are defined by what’s around us and I think you did a great job of capturing the meaning of “big story” without actully telling us what to think. You might want to analyz at what point we of how we also impacting the invorment around us thus creating other peoples “big story”

Leave a Reply

