mohrbr

Icon

A lovely bit of cabin fever

HW 22 – PRIMARY SOURCE FOR BIG BIG STORY

The Wall by Jean-Paul Sartre is about the mental deconstruction of three prisoners who are waiting for their execution. The story could also be viewed as an allegory, wrapped in a representation, and presented on a silver platter of stimulates for the mind. The story is an “allegory” because it delivers a message through the usage of a hypothetical situation. The message, or moral, all of life’s opulent distraction (personal pleasure, pain love, emotions etc.) have no value when skimming the surface of death. The story is a “representation” because it is written in a first person; however this is only the author emulating a person’s reaction while incorporating his own thoughts and believes into the text. The story is a new leathery and slick shoe that was just give to the pup of the mind to be gnawed on. Once striped of its characters, plot, and any sympathetic aspect the story is just raises the question “hypothetically speaking, what would a person who does not believe in an afterlife or religion, but does believe in code or life style he chose for himself, do when faced with the knowledge that he will soon reach a painful and humiliating death?”.

Analysis

I personally cannot read a physiologically stimulating story entitled The Wall without relating it to another wall; The Wall by Pink Floyd. Pink Floyd: The Wall raises the argument that social interaction is meaningless because people, no matter how close they are to you, will always misunderstand you and will ultimately hurt you (which will turn you into a neo Nazi rock star). The Wall by Sartre argues that the relationships you built with people throughout your life do not matter. When asked if he would like to write any last words for a loved one the narrator says that he has no one he wants to write to, even though he has a woman that loves him. He  states that “Last night I would have given an arm to see her again for five minutes…. Now I had no more desire to see her, I had nothing more to say to her. I would not even have wanted to hold her in my arms”. His sudden disinterest in wanting to see the woman he loved, and loved him back, was a result of the realization that it doesn’t matter if he will never see the woman again because he will die and she will move on. He recognized that even though he may have created a dent in someone’s life that dent would eventually be mended, new dents would be made to replace his mark and eventually he would be forgotten. While the story does not necessarily argues that interaction with people is profound because they misunderstand you, it does argue that the interaction with people is profound because you will eventually be forgotten.

Filed under: Uncategorized

10 Responses

  1. Hello, i think i might of missed a post or 2, ill go back and check. Anyway, this is the first post where I have seen a noticeable improvement in your writing. The metaphors are almost gone/down, the writing is not choppy, and the grammar is better. It wraps up pretty well and is an overall improvement.
    My problem comes from the blasé way in which you speak on Sartre, it borders on pseudo-authoritative and lends the post an air of arrogance. When you dissect the work of a premier philosopher don’t act like you know better than him.

    • mohrbr says:

      Thank you for both caring that you missed some of my blogs and for pointing out my improvements. I am sorry that my writing had seemed pretentious, and I am doubly so based on the irony of the situation. While I do feel that life is pointless I did not want to sound too dramatic and over the top. I want to reassure you that I do not think that I comprehend the teaching of an acclaimed philosopher better than him and it was not my intention appear pretentious.
      Mohr

      • Let me amend my previous statement by saying that I didn’t mean to say that you believed yourself better than Sartre, only that the language gave me that impression, I’m sorry if you took that as an attack or insult.

  2. keren says:

    I feel that your writing keeps the reader engaged. I enjoyed it.l iIke wise agree wite your metaphor to The Wall by Pink Floyd, a presantation of the tourtoured mind of humanity. Your refrences heigten your over all message and I feel that your writing expresses actuall intrest in the topic instead of simpley being a mindless dron.

    • mohrbr says:

      Thank you for your comment. I had a hard time understanding your comment considering that most of your words were not completed and the grammar errors had made the sentence dense. Thank you never the less.
      Mohr

  3. naomihendel says:

    I really like how you involved pop culture with Pink Floyd into your work. The writing was very interesting and I could really follow what you were saying. Previously I have enjoyed your writing because of the beautiful words, but I would get lost. In this post I completely followed you throughout. Nice job!

    • mohrbr says:

      Thank you. I do feel that the post was the most cohesive of late considering that while writing the other posts I was exploring my big story. I will try to keep my posts less wordy in the future.
      Mohr

  4. mohrbr says:

    Thank you for your comment. I had time understanding your comment considering that most of your words were not completed and the grammar errors had made the sentence dense. Thank you never the less.
    Mohr

Leave a Reply

