mohrbr

Icon

A lovely bit of cabin fever

HW 26 BIG STORY CHALLENGE PROJECT PART 1

Comments on my blog from Simon 

SIMON: Hello there Mohr. Let me begin by congratulating you on having the guts to give meaning to nothingness. After all, is that not the incarnation of existentialism? Other than some minor grammatical errors, the piece flowed quite well and came off as quite eloquent.
My only concern arose from the lack of emphasis on the hedonistic nature of existentialism. Also the “questioning my big story” section seemed to imply that you were settling for existentialism.
Don’t you think you should follow the truth?
If life has no meaning, how can we make meaning, your statement on paradox seems only to contradict your belief system.
I’m not telling you to believe what I believe, or to change who you are, but I think if you dug a little deeper into your mind, you may come up with something that sounds less strained.

ME: Thank you for the comment. To respond to your two questions at the end I understand why it may seem paradoxal trying to adding meaning to a meaningless life, however I proably have not properly explained that I am not trying to give life meaning but rather add meaning to what’s around me. Also I don’t think I clarified properly that I find it hard to find motive to do anything with the knowledge that in the end everything I do adds up to nothing. Hence I chose to live in denial .

My,not so beneficial, comments on Simon’s blog 

ME: Hey sorry for not writing sooner.
I think your explanation of how you enact and connect to your philosophies would be stronger if you A) clarified a bit what is your philosophy is about and B) where do you stand in the retrospective of your philosophy (do you agree with it a 100% is there some aspects that don’t apply to you [something along those line]).

SIMON: This philosophy is my creation, it is the manifestation of my belief. Also, could you please further explain what you mean by “clarify what my philosophy is about”. Is there something in particular that you think I should add?

ME: You should probably explain what nihilism is, because as you pointed out not that many people know about it.

SIMON:also as to defining nihilism in my paper, that is paragraph 3 (“… nihilist believes that nothing you have ever done, are doing, or ever will do, has any meaning/purpose”) Sorry for posting this here, but it wouldn’t let me respond to your response on my “wall”

ME now that I re read it I did notice that you mentioned it, I hope you can exuse my sleep deprived brain.

 [we also had a brief exchange in school in which I told him that I was unable to find to many noticeable flaws and that I personally agreed with his belief hence I could not come up with challenging questions]
Simon’s and My collaborated response to Naomi’s post
ME:
Hey Naomi. Overall I thought the writing styles were very informal and some sentences could be taken out. While reading your blog I came across some issues such as:

-On the first paragraph third line what did you mean by “just showing up”

-You should distinguish between the things you want to the future and what/who you are now. Example: in the third paragraph you said “through my work (as a psychologist)”; also on the fourth paragraph you said I want to provide that for my children as well.”

-Try not to generalize service to others to much, you should elaborate more.

-In what ways is your story about being in the wilderness, in the fourth paragraph, relates to the rest of the paragraph and/or your big story?

-If you are living the American dream do you think what you really want is “to have enough money to provide for my family and myself, so that I can be assured there is always food and shelter for my family and myself”? Don’t you think that you many want more than just basic necessities

-I think that your assumption, on the first paragraph of part 2, that just because “you are a psychologist” you will have a close knitted family is naïve. You should probably consider that A) most psychologists do not have that much free time and B) how you being a psychologist can negatively affect your family.

-On the second to last paragraph of part 2 you said “ Just trying your hardest is enough for me which makes my big story achievable for me”, you should probably elaborate on what happens if you try really hard and fail.

Lastly this is a question your big story in general: you say having a family is a big part of your “big story” but why is that? Why do you want to dedicate your life to people that have yet to exist, whom you have yet to meet, and in probability will not like?

SIMON:

Hello there Naomi, while reading your essay, there were several points of interest which stood out to me. First, there seem to be some “gaps in perspective”, in order for me to comment on this post fairly I feel they need to be corrected. As Mohr commented it seems unlikely that you are currently a psychologist for the criminally insane. A little revision would go a long way. Try to clear up what is and what will be. Also a proofreading or two would serve to eliminate the few grammatical errors I noticed. Overall your essay isn’t bad, it just lacks a direction, try to tie all its pieces together with a common theme, fixate on that theme, then proof-read it once or twice. Once you have your ideas refined I’m sure your writing will reflect your effort.

Questions:

Do people really ask you why you should be kind to others? If so, they probably need to see a certified psychologist.
How does psychology tie into your big story?
What do you believe comes after death? How does that coincide with your big story?
As you yourself mentioned, how do you propose to excel in the field of psychology considering:
“…I ask myself is do I really want to go through that much school? It seems almost impossible for me to become a psychologist sometimes because I struggle with focus. I don’t know if I want to go through all the schooling you need to become a psychologist.”
If you don’t want to become a psychologist, than maybe you should look into that a little more. Psychology seems to be a big part of you big story, if you don’t believe in it that strongly, than maybe you should reconsider some of your other preconceptions?
Here is a practical (albeit humorous) video on the success of the clinical psychologist, it may help you (or hurt you) feel free to have a look (note: it focuses on attaining a doctorate in clinical psychology, even so, I feel it is still relevant):http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ZaLipDgFZQ.
You want to “spend my [your] life working to help the really crazy people try to overcome and understand their psychological issues”, but what is sanity, can you truly judge what is healthy or unhealthy mentally? Just because someone has a different perspective, that does not mean they are wrong or ill.
best of luck,

-Simon

ME: to build of Simon’s last comment; at one point in the paper you said that you are interested in people having different opinions yet you want to “spent my life working to help the really crazy people try to overcome and understand their psychological issues”, in other words you want to change how they think. I suggest that you stick to one opinion so you won’t contradict yourself

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

